In Celebration Of Marvelous Errors

A couple of weeks ago, I stopped into the local bookstore in Rhinebeck. I met a woman named Kris, pictured here.

KRIS

Kris helped me locate a book on the shelves. She also suggested some nearby places to explore. One of the places was Mills Mansion, pictured here.

MILLS MANSION 

 It’s a stunning Beaux Arts home with beautiful lawns and unobstructed views of the Hudson. Mat and I have visited several times. We’ve become quite fond of it. 

ROCKTOOTH COVE-2

This weekend, we decided to show off Mills Mansion to our friends Mike & Aurelie. We explored a new path Kris had recommended when I visited the bookstore on Thursday. Much to our surprise, we bumped into Kris at exactly the spot she recommended we explore!

ROCK

Kris is fond of poetry. Whenever she visits Mills Mansion, she leaves quotes along the trail hoping people will find them. I was lucky enough to discover this gem: 

Last night, as I was sleeping, I dreamt – marvelous error! – that I had a beehive here inside my heart. And the golden bees were making white combs and sweet honey from my old failures.

It’s from an Antonio Machado poem named Last Night As I Was Sleeping. The poem was translated my Robert Bly. The idea of “marvelous errors” is quite inspiring to me. It sums up my experiences over the past summer, if not the past year. Yet, it’s brave and optimistic about the future. I feel restored for reading it, ready to march forward into fall.

We’ve also become very connected to Rhinebeck this summer. There are a lot of special people like Kris in the area. I can’t wait to get to know her better. Mat and I are really excited to come back. And to read the full poem!