Three Reasons I’m A Fan Of charity:water

Since my birthday campaign started several days ago, some of you have reached out to ask for more information about charity:water. I’m glad to share.

Earlier today, charity:water released this video:

The video focuses on efforts in Sahel, a region of Africa dividing the Sahara from the savannah. Precipitation is extremely irregular, and the climate is dangerously dry. I think the video captures the vision and the mission of the organization really well. There are three reasons I’m a fan:

1. Clean water means health, income and education – especially for women and kids. Most of us have never been thirsty, so it’s hard to believe there are 800 million people on this planet who don’t have access to clean water.

2. charity:water brings clean and safe drinking water to people in developing nations. By providing things like fresh water wells, rainwater catchments, and sand filters.

3. 100% of public donations go directly to the field to fund clean water projects. For about $30 a person, a campaign that raises $1,000 will help 33 people. No grand schemes. No billion dollar solutions. Just things that work.

It’s an amazing model, and an amazing charity that gets results. We’ll all feel the impact long after my birthday. That’s because charity:water does an amazing job of documenting their projects and visualizing improvements using photography and GPS technology. Another reason I’m connected!

With that in mind, I want to express gratitude to those of you who have already donated. I’m proud to say we’re 85% of the way towards our goal of $1,000. I’d love to blow the goal out of the water, to start the year well over 100%. I hope you’ll consider a donation:

https://my.charitywater.org/trading-wine-for-water

Thanks!